Johan Rockström, executive director at Stockholm Resilience Centre, has been named co-chairs of Future Earth's new Advisory Committee

Bildtext får vara max två rader text. Hela texten ska högerjusteras om den bara ska innehålla fotobyline! Photo: B. Christensen/Azote

future earth

Johan Rockström new co-chair of Future Earth Advisory Committee

Will lead new new Advisory Committee together with Leena Srivastava, Vice Chancellor of TERI School of Advanced Studies, India 


On 19 December Future Earth announced two co-chairs to its new Advisory Committee: Leena Srivastava, Vice Chancellor of TERI School of Advanced Studies in New Dehli, India , and Johan Rockström, Executive Director of Stockholm Resilience Centre in Sweden.

"We are thrilled to welcome Leena Srivastava and Johan Rockström to lead our new Advisory Committee. They bring with them not just decades of experience in scientific research but a commitment to turning knowledge on sustainability into on-the-ground action." said Amy Luers, Executive Director of Future Earth.

Future Earth is a major international platform bringing together networks of tens of thousands of researchers, innovators, and professionals across the globe working to accelerate a transition to a sustainable world. The new co-chairs will help guide Future Earth’s research and innovation projects and act as ambassadors for the mission.

"The health of the planet is at stake and it determines the health of people and our societies. Nothing less than a transformation to global sustainability is needed to meet the Paris Climate target and the Sustainable Development Goals. Future Earth provides ground-breaking research on the state of the planet and critical insights and links between science and society internationally for societal transformations. I really look forward to being a part of Future Earth during this critical period," Johan Rockström said.

The newly-formed Advisory Committee will succeed the Future Earth Science and Engagement Committees, which played an important role in guiding the organisation through its initial start-up phase between 2014 and 2017. Rockström and Srivastava will work together with the leadership team of Future Earth to build the full Advisory Committee. This committee will be drawn in part from members of the original Science and Engagement Committees and from additional selections based on nominations from the Governing Council.

Topics: Awards
Published: 2017-12-19